SharpKeys 3.5

Rating:        Based on 16 ratings
Reviewed:  13 reviews
Downloads: 467491
Change Set: 73847
Released: Feb 14, 2012
Updated: Feb 15, 2012 by RandyRants
Dev status: Stable Help Icon

Recommended Download

Application sharpkeys35.msi
application, 475K, uploaded Feb 15, 2012 - 440750 downloads

Other Available Downloads

application, 22K, uploaded Dec 29, 2011 - 26741 downloads

Release Notes

Installer-based and zipped bits based off the source included here.

Requires .NET Framework 4.0 Client Profile

Reviews for this release

Very useful as Dell removed the Windows context key. And it also works on Windows 10!
by raandree on Aug 17 at 11:04 AM
Simple for a NON-power user! Easy load, easy "touch the key" feature for those of us who don't know the quirky names for special keys (like 'context'). Works seamlessly in Win10.
by laiwu on Nov 2 at 2:56 AM
Simple and effective. I have a Samsung 7 Series Laptop and the number pad Enter key was working as the regular Enter key in Sibelius - very annoying as it's a commonly-used shortcut key. Using this program I was able to diagnose that the number pad Enter key was returning a different scan code (SPECIAL_ENTER) not NUM_ENTER and remap accordingly. Windows 10, x64, worked first time. Thank you so much :)
by chodder on Oct 27 at 2:03 PM
This program does exactly what it is supposed to do in a simple intuitive user friendly way. It is excellent. I found it by trying to track down how to disable the insert key but I also use it to disable the capslock key. Excellent work, well done and thank you to the author!
by marlowa on Sep 26 at 3:55 PM
OH MY GOD! this was a godsend program. I had a broken 'p' key that i had t press just perfectly to type anything. being able to assign the '[' key next to it with 'p', without any hassle has made typing so much easier. I even signed up with this site just to review this program so others will use it. five out of five stars!
by ConDog on Feb 25 at 2:29 PM
Excelent!!! My notebook keyboard was missing END key (was available only on the numeric keypad - which I need it a lot) and with SharpKeys I was able to remap INSERT key (rarely used) with END key so it saved me to switch on/off the numeric keyboard every few seconds. And is working on Windows 8.1 x64! Thank you!
by luconsta on Feb 21 at 9:43 AM
Its a great program. But I hope it updates its database for keyboards with unique keys (my keyboard for example, the Genius Manticore). I want to change the volume up and down buttons to the prev/next track buttons, but those keys aren't registered in SharpKeys' database. I only get the message, "You've entered a key that SharpKeys doesn't recognize." Please update this further. Solid idea and solid performance otherwise.
by NickyDoom on Dec 20, 2014 at 11:45 PM
Awesome. Too bad it can't detecy Macbook right Option/Alt key to determine its code
by sfeldman on Oct 4, 2014 at 6:53 PM
Easy to use. Great utility!
by mdean on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:32 PM
I downloaded it, installed it on my computer and within no time, I had the two keys that have been bothering me for months disconnected and turn to absolutely no use at all. It is a perfect little program that does exactly what it is designed for. Very very nice. Thank you to the author.
by regoroger on Jul 22, 2014 at 1:24 PM
I've been looking for a way to flip the functionality of my F keys for months, this worked perfectly! In the words of Krusty: "I heartily endorse this event or product."
by EraseBegin on Jul 8, 2014 at 3:55 PM
Works great!!! Thanks to whoever developed this. Found this on Google. Makes life easier!!!!!!
by readypembroke on Jun 8, 2014 at 6:03 PM
Brilliant software. Can confirm that it works seamlessly on Windows 8, x64 version, all updates till date as on 3 June 2014
by nitincodeplex on Jun 3, 2014 at 8:41 AM